### Franklin B. Walter Awards & Recognition Celebration



Hosted and coordinated by the Northwest Ohio ESC **P** 





### WELCOME

### · · · · ·

### PRESENTATION OF HONORED SPECIAL EDUCATION TEACHERS



### PRESENTATION OF SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS & HONORED TEACHERS

## Special Thanks to all who made this recognition possible

Farmers & Merchants State Bank District School Counselors Contributing NwOESC Administrators & Employees Franklin B. Walter Selection Committee

**NwOESC Governing Board:** Brian Baker | Ron Crawford | Ross Stambaugh | Jim George Deborah Gerken | Nona Rupp | Christine Smallman | Lori Weber | Diane Wyse

## **Scholarship Winners & Honored Teachers**

#### District

Archbold Aversville Bryan Central Local Defiance Edgerton Edon Northwest Evergreen Fayette Four County CC Hicksville Holgate Liberty Center Millcreek-West Unity Montpelier Napoleon North Central Northeastern Local Patrick Henry Pettisville Pike-Delta-York Stryker Swanton Wauseon

County Fulton Defiance Williams Defiance Defiance Williams Williams Fulton Fulton Henry Defiance Henry Henry Williams Williams Henry Williams Defiance Henry Fulton Fulton Williams Fulton Fulton

**Student Winner** Kate Nofziger Kara Retcher Shallyn Miley Cassandra Mavis\* Graicen Siler Kale Merillat Trey Whitney\* Gina Silvestri Miah Beauregard\* Lena Bassett Collin Durre Bailey Sonnenberg Brecken Garretson Joseph Reamsnyder Lyndsi Engels Brady Bockelman Brenna White Adam Harr Sydney Rohrs\* Heath Waidelich Zack Mattin Caitlyn Lyons

#### Honored Teacher

Beth Yoder Roscelline Kieffer Jacki Elser Jacob Panico Shannon Lamb Joseph Bales Sara Kipfer Chris Lyons Sara Altstaetter Vicki Camron Elaine Gerken James Niese Rvan Miller Katie Frev Lester Orndorff Lindy Seagave Kelli Hills Brett Grime Carolyn Hartman Andy Switzer Dennis Heban Sara Taylor joshua Eppert Kim Hinton

## **Special Education Honored Teachers**

Jasmin Kenzie

Noah Becker

#### County

#### **Honored Teacher**

Defiance Fulton Henry Williams

Jeni Kitchenmaster Emily Tomanski Cheryl Shively Karen Dominique

Nominated By Beth Lewis S. Marvin | L. Pancoast | M. Smith Jamie Knueven Kermit Riehle

#### \*Denotes County Winner







••••



·····











· · · · · ·





















• •

••••

•••••







•••

••••















# History of Franklin B. Walter Scholarship

The Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award Program was established by the Ohio Educational Service Center Association (OESCA) to promote and recognize outstanding academic achievement. One senior from each county in Ohio receives this honor. The award is named in honor of Franklin B. Walter, who served as State Superintendent of Education for Ohio from March 1977 until August 1991. Throughout his career, Dr. Walter exemplified concern for young people and dedicated his life to the improvement of education in Ohio.

The Northwest Ohio ESC, serving Defiance, Fulton, Henry and Williams Counties, supports the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award Program. However, we have expanded the recognition to include locally awarded scholarships. One outstanding senior from each district receives a scholarship award of \$200; while overall county winners receive a scholarship award of \$500, in addition to an exclusive invitation to the statewide awards luncheon held in Columbus, OH.

Along with student achievement, our local recognition also promotes teacher excellence, including the honoring of special education providers across NW Ohio for the work done on behalf of students with disabilities. Each student scholarship winner is asked to submit a tribute to the teacher who has positively influenced their success in school.