Regular Board Meeting October 21, 2024

The Edgerton Local Board of Education met for the regular board meeting on Monday, October 21, 2024 at 5:30 p.m. in the Annex Board Room. *Members present were Lyn Bowsher*, *Amanda Giesige, Nick Hug, Robert Siebenaler and Bill Swank*. Others present were Ben Wilhelm, William Blakely, Brett Grieser, Lucas Smith, Sally Green, Marty Rothey, Leslie VanAusdale, Andy Farnham, Greg Dietsch, Jody Keppeler, Tim Meister, Karen Meister, Sara Huard, Brianna Balogh with the Village Reporter, and Cindy Thiel with the Edgerton Earth.

Lyn Bowsher moved, seconded by Nick Hug, to approve the agenda and any revisions. *Vote: Bowsher, Hug, Giesige, Swank, Siebenaler-yes.*

RESOLUTION #2024-203 ADOPTED

Amanda Giesige moved, seconded by Lyn Bowsher, to approve the minutes from the special board meeting on September 23, 2024. *Vote: Giesige, Bowsher, Hug, Swank, Siebenaler-yes.*

RESOLUTION #2024-204 ADOPTED

All meetings of the Edgerton Local Board of Education will be open to the public. In order for the Board to fulfill its obligation to complete the planned agenda in an effective and efficient fashion, a maximum of thirty (30) minutes of public participation will be permitted at each meeting.

People not on the agenda wanting to address the Board must request permission from the President of the Board or the Superintendent prior to the start of the meeting.

Agendas will be distributed to all those who attend Board meetings. The section on the agenda for public participation will be marked with an asterisk (*).

The board expects Policy 9130-Public Complaints to be enforced prior to their involvement.

First level Public requested to speak with individual directly involved with situation.

Second level Public requested to speak to individual's immediate supervisor.

Third level Public may request to speak with superintendent.

Fourth level Public may request a meeting with the board of education.

Please view Public Complaints Policy 9130 for more details.

Regular Board Meeting October 21, 2024

Marty Rothey, from the Ohio School Board Association, presented school board members Robert Siebenaler and Nick Hug with 10 Year Awards.

Andy Farnham, representing the Edgerton Area Foundation, presented the completed Press Box Project donation.

The Board of Education presented former interim superintendent Tim Meister with an appreciation gift for his service to the district earlier this calendar year.

Bill Swank moved, seconded by Amanda Giesige, to approve financial reports, bills for payment, appropriation and estimated resource modifications for the month of September, and the following investments:

| StarOhio | 09/30/24 | \$ 2,472,127.16 | 5.20% |
|---------------------------|----------|-----------------|-------|
| RedTree | 09/30/24 | \$ 3,165,981.62 | 4.16% |
| Premier Bank MM | 09/30/24 | \$ 420,944.47 | 5.58% |
| State Bank CD | 09/30/24 | \$ 223,351.75 | 3.81% |
| Hicksville Bank 30 Day CD | 09/30/24 | \$ 824,268.18 | 5.12% |

Vote: Swank, Giesige, Bowsher, Hug, Siebenaler-yes.

RESOLUTION #2024-205 ADOPTED

Superintendent Ben Wilhelm presented his agenda:

- 1. Communications
 - Four County Career Center
- 2. Senate Bill 29 update

Regular Board Meeting October 21, 2024

Nick Hug moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to approve the 2024-2025 Interagency Agreement with the Northwestern Ohio Community Action Commission:

- NOCAC Head Start/Early Head Start in Williams County
- Ohio Family & Children First
- Williams County Board of DD The Enrichment Center Williams County Local Education Agencies
- Williams County Early Intervention
- Northwest Ohio Educational Service Center Districts of Edgerton Local; Bryan City; Edon Northwest Local: Millcreek West Unity Local; Montpelier Ex. Village; North Central Local; and Stryker Local

Vote: Hug, Swank, Bowsher, Giesige, Siebenaler-yes.

RESOLUTION #2024-206 ADOPTED

Nick Hug moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to approve Kidz Club After School Program for grades 3-6 beginning January-March 2025 with Kelly Wilhelm, coordinator, and staff on a volunteer basis. *Vote: Hug, Swank, Bowsher, Giesige, Siebenaler-yes*.

RESOLUTION #2024-207 ADOPTED

Nick Hug moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to approve the donation of the Press Box (football field) from the Edgerton Area Foundation. *Vote: Hug, Swank, Bowsher, Giesige, Siebenaler-yes*.

RESOLUTION #2024-208 ADOPTED

Nick Hug moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to approve the current NwOESC sub-lists:

- Para professionals
- Teachers

Vote: Hug, Swank, Bowsher, Giesige, Siebenaler-yes.

RESOLUTION #2024-209 ADOPTED

Regular Board Meeting October 21, 2024

Nick Hug moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to approve the resignation of Rick Herman as Assistant Varsity Boys' wrestling coach effective immediately. *Vote: Hug, Swank, Bowsher, Giesige, Siebenaler-yes.*

RESOLUTION #2024-210 ADOPTED

Nick Hug moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to approve supplemental contracts for the 2024-2025 school year pending any necessary pre-employment requirements:

SUPPLEMENTALS

Tom Nye Wrestling – Elementary Rick Herman Wrestling – Varsity Girls'

Hayden Herman Wrestling – Assistant Varsity Boys'

McKenna Dietsch Girls' Basketball – Junior Varsity Nate Drown Girls' Basketball – Jr. High

Vote: Hug, Swank, Bowsher, Giesige, Siebenaler-yes.

RESOLUTION #2024-211 ADOPTED

Nick Hug moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to approve reimbursement of background checks for non-certified (classified) staff members for the purpose of Rapback enrollment in accordance with HB 33 and SB163. *Vote: Hug, Swank, Bowsher, Giesige, Siebenaler-yes.*

RESOLUTION #2024-212 ADOPTED

Nick Hug moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to approve two (2) year OTES/OPES certifications:

Lucas Smith (valid 9-19-2024 through 9-19-2026) OTES

Ben Wilhelm (valid 9-11-2024 through 9-11-2026) OPES

Vote: Hug, Swank, Bowsher, Giesige, Siebenaler-yes.

RESOLUTION #2024-213 ADOPTED

Elementary Principal Lucas Smith presented his building report.

Regular Board Meeting October 21, 2024

| Middle School/High School Principal Brett Grieser presented his building report. Lyn Bowsher moved, seconded by Bill Swank, to adjourn the meeting at 6:10 p.m. <i>Vote: Bowsher, Swank, Giesige, Hug, Siebenaler-yes.</i> | | | |
|---|-------------------|--|--|
| | | | |
| | PRESIDENT | | |
| | TDE A CLIDED /CEO | | |