

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Tracie Collins P: 330.945.5600 E: TracieC@summitesc.org

Summit ESC Honors the Area's Top Educators at 2019 Education Celebration

The Summit Educational Service Center (ESC) recognized the top educators in Northeast Ohio at the 2019 Education Celebration on Tuesday, Oct. 22, at Guy's Party Center in Akron.

This annual event recognizes educators from Summit County and surrounding areas who are making a difference in the lives of students across the region. Nominations for the awards are submitted by parents and educators who feel a teacher deserves to be recognized for their dedication to the classroom, commitment to the school district and desire to go above and beyond for each individual child. The Teacher of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Lifetime Achievement award winners are announced during the event.

"Each year, we receive so many deserving nominations, and it is our honor to be able to recognize such an outstanding group of educators at the Education Celebration," said Summit ESC Superintendent Joseph Iacano. "We look forward to hosting this event every year because teachers should be celebrated. They truly make an impact on the lives of their students, and our nominees and award winners are a great representation of the caliber of educators in Northeast Ohio."

The educator selected as the 2019 Teacher of the Year was Dana Floyd, a third-grade teacher in the Springfield Local School District, who empowers students to support and collaborate with one another while creating a welcoming environment for all students. The teacher selected as the Rookie of the Year was Tyler Lantz, a kindergarten teacher for the Hudson City School District, who became a teacher to be a role model and help young children achieve their goals and dreams. The Lifetime Achievement award was presented to Joyce Ann Conway, who recently retired from the Tallmadge City School District after working more than 40 years, where she focused on bringing a sense of community, safety, success, belonging and love to the students in her classroom.

To be nominated for Teacher of the Year, an educator must have more than three years of teaching experience in Summit County. Teachers with less than three years of experience in Summit County can be nominated for the Rookie of the Year Award. Teachers, educators and administrators who have spent their entire career in education, as well as friends and partners of local school districts, can be nominated for the Lifetime Achievement Award.

This year's event was sponsored by the Akron Area School Superintendent's Association, The Akron Beacon Journal, Huntington Bank, Summit Education Initiative (SEI) and Walter Haverfield Attorneys At Law.

"We are extremely grateful to our sponsors who are also tremendous supporters of education," lacano said. "Without them, we would not be able to put on this celebration to honor our educators. Thank you to our sponsors and congratulations to the 2019 award recipients!"

For more information about the Summit ESC, visit <u>www.summitesc.org</u>.