MINUTES

1

The Dickson County Board of Education met in special session on March 21, 2024 at 7:00 p.m. in the Board Room at Central Office. Present: Kirk Vandivort, Sonya Brogdon, Steve Haley, Philip Chadwick, Joe Underwood and Aaron Parker. Absent: None. The meeting opened with a moment of silence and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Joe Underwood.

#2540 Motion to approve the agenda

Motion was made by Kirk Vandivort, seconded by Aaron Parker to approve the agenda as amended to add 3.d.ii executive session to discuss Cops grant and to add 4.d. cancel March 28, 2024 regular session.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon yes	Haley	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood yes	Parker	yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0 Abs	sent-0	Abstain-0

Motion carried.

#2541 Motion to approve the minutes from the February 22, 2024 Regular Session and the February 28, 2024 Special Session

Motion was made by Steve Haley, seconded by Kirk Vandivort to approve the minutes from the February 22, 2024 Regular Session and the February 28, 2024 Special Session.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort Chadwick	yes yes	Brogdon ye Underwood y		Hale Park	2	yes yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0	Absen	t-0	Abstain	-0

Motion carried.

Public Comment on Actionable Agenda Items

No public comment

RECOGNITIONS

Dickson County High School senior Ari Vakin was recognized for her submission of a paper on adolescent mathematics to the TN Math Education Conference.

Student Board Representatives Heath Albright-Creek Wood High and Madelyn Pitney-Dickson County High School reported on the academics, sports, other activities, and service projects for the respective schools.

CURRICULUM & INSTRUCTION

#2542 Motion to approve McGraw-Hill case study contingent upon legal counsel's agreement of the contract

Motion was made by Aaron Parker, seconded by Joe Underwood to approve McGraw-Hill case study contingent upon legal counsel's agreement of the contract.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon	yes	Haley	yes
Board	Minutes			March	21, 2024	

Chadwick	yes	Underwood	yes Par	ker yes
Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0	Absent-0	Abstain-0

Motion carried.

FINANCE

Dr. Southerland presented the monthly financial report for February 2024 for all funds.

#2543 Motion to approve the monthly financial report for February 2024

Motion was made by Kirk Vandivort, seconded by Steve Haley to approve the monthly financial report for February 2024 for all funds.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon yes	Haley	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood yes	Parker	yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0 Abser	nt-0 Abstain-	0

Motion carried.

MAINTENANCE

#2544 Motion to approve low bid for drainage and grading improvements at DCHS

Motion was made by Steve Haley, seconded by Aaron Parker to approve the low bid for drainage and grading improvements at DCHS by MAC Excavating for \$131,145.00 to be taken from fund balance.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon yes	Haley	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood yes	Parker	yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0 Abser	nt-0 Abstain-	-0

Motion carried.

#2545 Motion to approve design fees for high wall and section of roof at DCHS

Motion was made by Aaron Parker, seconded by Kirk Vandivort to approve design fees for the high wall and section of the roof at DCHS for \$184,800 from fund balance.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon yes	Haley	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood yes	Parker	yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0 Abse	ent-0 Abstai	n-0

Motion carried.

TECHNOLOGY

Recess to executive session prior to vote.

#2546 Motion to approve COPS grant of \$265,000 subject to contract review and approval by legal counsel

Board Minutes

Motion was made by Kirk Vandivort, seconded by Steve Haley to approve COPS grant of \$265,000 subject to contract review and approval by legal counsel.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon yes	Haley	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood yes	Parker	yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0 Abs	sent-0 Abs	tain-0

Motion carried.

STUDENT SERVICES

#2547 Motion to approve field trip permissions

Motion was made by Kirk Vandivort, seconded by Aaron Parker to approve the special permissions field trips.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon ye	s	Hale	ey	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood y	ves	Park	ter	yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0	Abser	nt-0	Abstain-(C

Motion carried.

ADMINISTRATION

#2548 Motion to approve Board Policy 4.202 special education on second reading

Motion was made by Phillip Chadwick, seconded by Kirk Vandivort to approve Board Policy 4.202 on second reading.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon ye	S	Hale	ey	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood y	es	Park	ter	yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0	Abser	nt-0	Abstain-	0

Motion carried.

#2549 Motion to approve Board Policy 4.602 class ranking on second reading

Motion was made by Steve Haley seconded by Joe Underwood to approve Board Policy 4.602 on second reading.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon yes	S	Hale	у	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood ye	es	Park	er	yes
	Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0	Absen	nt-0	Abstain-()

Motion carried.

#2550 Motion to approve Board Policy 5.3051 paid parental leave on second reading

Motion was made by Aaron Parker seconded by Phillip Chadwick to approve Board Policy 5.3051 on second reading.

Roll Call Vote:	Vandivort	yes	Brogdon yes	Haley	yes
	Chadwick	yes	Underwood yes	Parker	yes

Yes-6	No-0	Pass-0	Absent-0	Abstain-0

Motion carried.

DIRECTOR OF SCHOOLS' REPORT

Dr. Southerland reported on Benchmark and TCAP testing. She provided new school brochures with updated information. She complimented Instructional Coaches and Coordinators for their work.

DCEA COMMENTS

Rhonda Madden, President of the Dickson County Education Association reported on SBES STEM night and again thanked the board for their legislative resolution.

COMMENTS BY BOARD MEMBERS

Mr. Parker congratulated Dr. Southerland on her first days. He also congratulated Ari Vakin. Mr. Underwood conveyed his appreciation for Dr. Southerland. Mr. Chadwick expressed his enthusiasm for the upcoming TSBA conference. Mr. Haley recognized all employees in the system for their work. Mr. Vandivort wished everyone a safe and restful spring break. Mrs. Brogdan complimented the Creek Wood staff and students for their exemplary behavior at the state basketball tournament. She also thanked the teachers that are retiring.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 8:06 p.m.

Sonya Brogdon, Chairman

Christie Southerland, Secretary